Climate Summit for Local Government

Sept 6-8, 2023 | Melbourne
LOCAL GOVERNMENTS will vie for top honours in the Climate Council’s Cities Power Partnership’s annual National Climate Awards, which open for submissions today.

The Climate Awards, now open for entries, recognise the unsung work of climate heroes in local governments across the county, in the fields of renewable energy, sustainable transport, energy efficiency, community engagement, innovation as well as individual climate champion awards. 

David Craven, director of the Cities Power Partnership, Australia’s largest local government climate network, said last year’s awards attracted a record-breaking number of outstanding entries.

“From carbon-neutral kindergartens to ambitious projects installing solar battery systems in thousands of homes and businesses, it was fantastic to see so many local governments stepping up to meet the challenges of climate change, and we expect this year’s awards entries to be no different,” said Mr Craven.

New in 2020 is the Innovation Award which seeks to uncover bold, transformative climate solutions.

“We know there are so many innovative solutions happening across rural, regional and metropolitan Australia, and we want to shine a spotlight on these never before seen council-driven projects, policies and programs that are helping the entire country achieve lower greenhouse gas emissions,” said Mr Craven.

Full list of awards

  • Renewable Energy Achievement Award
  • Energy Efficiency Achievement Award
  • Sustainable Transport Achievement Award
  • Community Engagement Achievement Award
  • Innovation Award (metropolitan)
  • Innovation Award (regional)
  • Climate Ambassador Award (elected representative)
  • Climate Champion Award (council staff)

Last year’s Ambassador of the Year award winner and former Mayor of Noosa Shire Council, Tony Wellington will join an invigorated independent judging panel that represents a selection of climate, energy and local government experts from a range of backgrounds to oversee the awards.

Mr Wellington said he was honoured to take part and celebrate the heroic councils tackling climate change and transforming Australia’s energy landscape.

“Local governments are a vital force in developing regional climate and energy solutions and I look forward to seeing what this year’s leading solutions are,” Mr Wellington said.

“Now is the time for real, meaningful action on climate change and it’s up to local governments to demonstrate the sort of leadership on this issue that is sadly missing from higher levels of government, particularly the federal government.” 

The award ceremony is scheduled for October 2020. More information can be found on the website. 


For more information please contact the Victoria Fratin on 0431 314 407 or [email protected] 

About the awards

The Cities Power Partnership Awards, run by the Climate Council, recognise outstanding achievements by local councils working to mitigate climate change. 

2020 Award Judges

  • Tony Wellington, former mayor of Noosa Shire Council 
  • Dan Pediaditis, Senior Program Manager, Environment and Sustainability, Lord Mayor’s Charitable Foundation
  • Verity Morgan-Schmidt, formerly of Farmers for Climate Action
  • Gerry Hueston, Climate Councillor and Chair of the Climate Council Board
  • Tim Baxter, Senior Researcher, Climate Council