Climate Summit for Local Government

Sept 6-8, 2023 | Melbourne

18 NOVEMBER 2021

BOROUGH OF QUEENSCLIFFE took out top honours for their work driving the region’s climate response at the national Cities Power Partnership Awards last night.

Queenscliffe is this year’s Community Choice award winner for its extensive engagement with the local community to co-develop a plan to take the region to net zero emissions by 2031.

The Cities Power Partnership Awards recognise the work of climate heroes in local governments across the country who are transforming Australia’s energy landscape. The Community Choice award is new in 2021, with the winner decided by over one thousand Australians voting for their favourite project.

Mayor Ross Ebbels said he was honoured that Australians voted Queenscliffe as this year’s Community Choice winner.

“It’s fitting that a project as community driven as our Climate Emergency Response Plan has received the Community Choice Award,” said Mayor Ebbels.

“Despite the Borough’s small size, we’re determined to play a big part in addressing the impact of climate change.”

Dr Portia Odell, director of the Cities Power Partnership, congratulated Queenscliffe on their award, noting that they shone in a competitive field of entrants.

“Queenscliffe’s work on climate is testament that small councils can have a big impact. Their work genuinely engaging the community and Wadawurrung Traditional Owners Aboriginal Corporationto collectively develop a plan to take the region to net zero is truly inspiring. I look forward to following their progress.”

“It’s wonderful to have had so many Australians voting for their favourite climate projects – from councils switching to electric power tools to encouraging sustainable transport at schools, Australian communities are rising up to meet the challenges of climate change and play a critical role delivering climate solutions in Australia.”

The Cities Power Partnership Awards celebrated outstanding work from local governments in the fields of renewable energy, energy efficiency, sustainable transport, community engagement and innovation as well as individual climate champion awards.


Renewable Energy Achievement Award
Northern Beaches Council, NSW – Northern Beaches Goes Renewable

Energy Efficiency Achievement Award
Georges River Council, NSW – Working towards net zero emissions

Sustainable Transport Achievement Award
Winner: ACT Government, ACT – Zero Emissions Fleet Transition

Community Engagement Achievement Award
City of Adelaide, SA – Sustainability Incentives Scheme Enabling Community Emissions Outcomes

Innovation Award
Greater Dandenong City Council, VIC – Net zero emissions in Council infrastructure and assets bids

Ambition Award
Mornington Peninsula Shire, VIC – Climate Emergency Plan “Ensuring our Future”

Collaboration Award
Darebin City Council, VIC – Victorian Energy Collaboration (VECO)

Climate Ambassador Award (elected representative)
Shoalhaven City Council, NSW – Mayor Amanda Findley

Climate Champion Award (council staff)
Cairns Regional Council Sustainability Team, QLD
Highly Commended: Hunter Joint Organisation, NSW

Community Choice Award
Borough of Queenscliffe, VIC – Community-led climate emergency response plan


Please find images of all the winners here.

For more information contact Victoria on 0431 314 047 or [email protected] 



The Cities Power Partnership awards recognise councils demonstrating climate mitigation action across the listed 37 action pledge items under the Cities Power Partnership. Each of the 9 categories were judged to ensure their respective criteria were met.


  • Damon Gameau, Film director, author and presenter
  • Dr Amanda Cahill, CEO, Next Economy
  • Dr Simon Bradshaw, Head of Research, Climate Council
  • Pam Townshend, Former Shire President, Shire of Augusta Margaret River, Western Australia