Climate Summit for Local Government

Sept 6-8, 2023 | Melbourne

THE CITIES POWER PARTNERSHIP has just announced the finalists for its national climate awards, recognising the work of local governments on the climate change frontline. 

The finalists were selected from a record number of entries submitted by diverse communities from small rural townships through to capital cities, in the fields of renewable energy, energy efficiency, sustainable transport and community engagement and project financing.

David Craven, Director of the Cities Power Partnership, said that the calibre of climate solutions developed by Australia’s councils this year was staggering. 

“From Cool Roofs in new buildings supporting residents to live more comfortably and efficiently, to public on-street electric vehicle charging stations, Cities Power Partnership Awards finalists  are leading the way with practical local climate solutions,” he said.

“These local champions are stepping up to the climate challenge in the face of continuing Federal climate inaction. It’s time to celebrate these unsung climate heroes in local government, who are helping their communities to drive down local greenhouse gas pollution.”

The Cities Power Partnership introduced two new award categories this year, including a Project Financing Innovation award that recognises innovative funding approaches for emissions reduction projects, as well as the Climate Change Champion award that recognises council staff  who tirelessly drive carbon emission reductions projects forward. 

The winners will be announced at the Cities Power Partnership’s second birthday celebration on  Thursday 29 August in Sydney. 


Renewable Energy Achievement 

ACT Government – Next Generation (Next Gen) Energy Storage Program
Georges River Council (NSW) – Hydropanels at Hurstville Aquatic Centre
Hawkesbury City Council (NSW) –  City Solar Program
Nambucca Shire Council (NSW) – Renewable Energy Action Plan
City of Ryde (NSW) – Ryde Aquatic Leisure Centre Solar PV system
Shoalhaven City Council (NSW) – Charging Ahead with Renewables
Logan City Council (QLD) – 3x100KW Solar Systems
Noosa Council (QLD) – Renewable Energy for Zero Emissions Noosa
City of Warrnambool (VIC) – Green Warrnambool

Energy Efficiency Achievement 

ACT Government – Energy Efficiency Improvement Scheme
City of Armadale, City of Gosnells and Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale (WA) – Cool Roofs project
Waverley Council (NSW) – Building Futures Program

Sustainable Transport Achievement

Moreland City Council (Vic) – Transition to Zero Emissions Fleet
City of Canterbury Bankstown (NSW) – Charging Ahead at CB City
City of Newcastle (NSW) – Smart Moves Newcastle Program
Northern Beaches Council (NSW) – Move Northern Beaches Transport Strategy
Randwick, Waverley and Woollahra Councils (NSW) – Public Electric Vehicle Charging Network

Community Engagement Achievement 

Augusta Margaret River Shire (WA) – Climate Action Summit
City of Canning (WA) – #carbonoff: Opt in to Offset
City of Port Phillip (VIC) – The Butterfly effect
City of Sydney (NSW) – CitySwitch national green office program

Financing Innovation Award

Blue Mountains City Council (NSW) – Carbon Revolving Reserve

Climate Change Champion

Brendan Ling, Senior Environment Officer, Logan City Council (QLD)
Adam Clarke, Program Coordinator City Innovation and Sustainability, City of Newcastle (NSW)
Lisa Hall, Technical Officer Development & Environment, Nambucca Shire Council (NSW)
Sam Kelley, Sustainability Projects and Reporting Officer Randwick City Council (NSW)
Sustainability Team, Northern Beaches Council (NSW)

Ambassador Award

Cr Pam Townshend, Shire President, Augusta Margaret River Shire (WA)
Clr Tony Wellington, Mayor, Noosa Council (QLD) 

For more information contact the Cities Power Partnership media team on 0487 003 872 or email [email protected]