Climate Summit for Local Government

Sept 6-8, 2023 | Melbourne
THE CITIES POWER PARTNERSHIP has today announced the finalists for its third annual national climate awards, recognising the work of local governments on the climate change frontline. 

Finalists were selected from a record number of entries submitted by diverse communities from small rural townships through to capital cities, in the fields of renewable energy, energy efficiency, sustainable transport, community engagement and innovation.

Portia Odell, Acting Director of the Cities Power Partnership, said that the calibre of climate solutions developed by Australia’s councils this year was astounding. 

“From innovative renewable energy deals providing communities with abundant clean, reliable and cheap energy, to supporting communities’ transition to net zero emissions, Cities Power Partnership Awards finalists are leading the way with practical local climate solutions,” she said.

“These local champions are stepping up to the climate challenge in the face of continuing Federal climate inaction. It’s time to celebrate these unsung climate heroes in local government, who are helping their communities to drive down greenhouse gas emissions.”

New in 2020 is the Innovation Award which seeks to uncover bold, transformative climate solutions for both metropolitan and regional councils trailblazers.

The winners will be announced at the virtual awards ceremony hosted by ABC’s Craig Reucassel at 6:00pm AEDT on Thursday 29 October, register here to join

Full list of 2020 finalists

Renewable Energy Achievement Award

  • City of Cockburn (WA) – Leading the way in WA
  • City of Melbourne (VIC) – Melbourne Renewable Energy Project 2
  • City of Sydney (NSW) – Innovative renewable electricity deal 

Energy Efficiency Achievement Award

  • Brighton Council (TAS) – The Great Southern Lights Project
  • Penrith City Council (NSW) – Achieving Energy Efficiency through the Sustainability Revolving Fund
  • Shoalhaven City Council (NSW) – A ray of light still shines bright in the Shoalhaven

Sustainable Transport Achievement Award

  • The Shire of Esperance (WA) – Trails Master Planning
  • City of Fremantle (WA) – City of Fremantle Get Going with e-Scooter
  • Lake Macquarie Council (NSW) – Lake Macquarie EV Charging Strategy 2020-2032

Community Engagement Achievement Award

  • Inner West Council (NSW) – Go Solar
  • City of Onkaparinga (SA) – Energy Support Program
  • Penrith City Council (NSW) – Sustainable Penrith

Innovation Award (metropolitan)

  • Brisbane City Council (QLD) – Brisbane Metro Charging Strategy
  • Ku-ring-gai Council (NSW) – Climate Wise Communities and 3D bushfire simulation
  • City of Melville (WA) – City of Melville’s Smart Cities – Smart Microgrid Project
  • Nillumbik Shire (VIC) – Nillumbik Shire: hybrid solar and battery off-grid Community Stadium & Relief Centre

Innovation Award (regional)

  • Hepburn Shire (VIC) – Hepburn Z-NET – Community Transition Plan
  • Parkes Shire (NSW) – Towards a greener future – Parkes Recycled Water Scheme
  • Sunshine Coast Council (QLD) – Blue Heart Sunshine Coast

Climate Ambassador Award (elected representative)

  • Belinda Coates, Deputy Mayor, City of Ballarat (VIC)
  • Dominic King, Mayor, Bellingen Shire (NSW)
  • Jerome Laxale, Mayor, City of Ryde (NSW)
  • Mark Greenhill, Mayor, Blue Mountains City Council (NSW) 

Climate Champion Award (council staff)

  • Georges River Council (NSW) – Team
  • Waverley Council, Woollahra Municipal Council and Randwick City Council (NSW) – Tri-Council Regional Environment Program Team 
  • City of Yarra (VIC) – Sustainability Team