Climate Summit for Local Government

Sept 6-8, 2023 | Melbourne
LOCAL GOVERNMENTS tackling climate change have garnered national recognition at last night’s Cities Power Partnership Awards.

The Awards, run by the Climate Council’s Cities Power Partnership, took place on Thursday 29 October virtually, recognising the unsung work of the climate heroes in local governments across the country, in the fields of renewable energy, energy efficiency, sustainable transport, community engagement and innovation as well as individual climate champion awards.

Dr Portia Odell, acting director of the Cities Power Partnership, Australia’s largest local government climate network, said that more than double the number of local governments entered the awards this year compared to last, showing how local governments are rising to the challenges of climate change, even in the difficult circumstances of 2020, and playing a vital role in Australia’s climate solution.

“The local climate projects on display at these awards, from innovative renewable energy deals that provide communities with clean, reliable and affordable energy, to supporting communities’ transition to net zero emissions, are tangible proof that Australian communities are leading the way with practical local climate solutions,” she said.

Full list of award winners

  • Renewable Energy Achievement Award
    Winner: City of Melbourne (VIC) – Melbourne Renewable Energy Project 2
    Highly commended: City of Cockburn (WA) – Leading the way in WA 
  • Energy Efficiency Achievement Award
    Winner: Shoalhaven City Council (NSW) – A ray of light still shines bright in the Shoalhaven 
  • Sustainable Transport Achievement Award
    Winner: Lake Macquarie Council (NSW) – EV Charging Strategy 2020-2032 
  • Community Engagement Achievement Award
    Winner: Inner West Council (NSW) – Go Solar 
  • Metropolitan Innovation Award
    Joint Winner: Nillumbik Shire (VIC) – Hybrid solar and battery off-grid Community Stadium & Relief Centre
    Joint Winner: Brisbane City Council (QLD) – Brisbane Metro Charging Strategy 
  • Regional Innovation Award
    Winner: Sunshine Coast Council (QLD) – Blue Heart Sunshine Coast 
  • Climate Ambassador Award (elected representative)
    Winner: Mark Greenhill, Mayor, Blue Mountains City Council (NSW)
    Highly commended: Belinda Coates, Deputy Mayor, City of Ballarat (VIC) 
  • Climate Champion Award (council staff)
    Winner: City of Yarra (VIC) – Sustainability Team

Awards host, ABC Fight for Planet A presenter Craig Reucassel congratulated the councils, noting that the winning projects shone amongst tough competition.

“It’s great to see councils continue to lead on climate solutions despite being faced with the immediate challenge of COVID-19, bushfires, floods and extreme heat,” Mr Reucassel said. 

“Love the inspiring, community-focused approaches to tackling climate change, delivering major emissions reductions and significant cost savings for local residents and businesses.”