Climate Summit for Local Government

Sept 6-8, 2023 | Melbourne

MAYORS FROM COUNCILS across the country have demanded that the next Federal Government take swift action to tackle climate change in a joint statement released today.

Fifteen mayors from the Cities Power Partnership, Australia’s largest local government climate alliance, have joined forces to demand more Federal support for local work on climate change, commitment to a national 100% renewable energy target and rapid phase out of fossil fuel subsidies.

Lord Mayor of Sydney Clover Moore said local governments around Australia and the world have been leading on climate action for decades, however their efforts are increasingly stifled by the shocking inaction of their state and federal governments.  

“This election, the conversation we should be having is about the devastating costs of not taking climate action,” the Lord Mayor said.

“By stoking fear and ignoring the science, our federal parliamentarians are distracting voters from the inarguable truth – that without urgent, coordinated, and global action to reduce emissions and shift to renewable energy, we will trigger runaway climate change.

“Together with Mayors from across Australia, I call on the next Federal Government to support us to better tackle climate change, and to adopt a higher renewable energy target, introduce mandatory disclosure of building energy ratings, and overhaul the National Building Code.”

Climate Councillor Professor Tim Flannery said that the next Federal Government must act swiftly to avert a climate crisis – and that means supporting local solutions.

“Australia is not on track to meet its greenhouse gas pollution targets, and without decisive action we’re speeding rapidly towards a climate crisis,” he said.

“Mayors are making a stand to demand that our next Federal leaders commit to meaningful action on climate change – and that means switching to renewable energy and ending subsidies for the dirty coal and gas industries that are putting our communities at risk of serious climate damage.”

Cr Amanda McClaren, Mayor of Strathbogie in regional Victoria, which saw heat records broken over summer, says councils are being challenged by intensifying climate-change driven extreme weather events.

“The past year, the hottest on record, has shown us that the time to act on climate change is now. We’re already feeling the impacts, from droughts to extreme heatwaves, and our residents are suffering.”

“In order to effectively prepare our towns and cities for a changing climate we need more resources and targeted policy from the Federal Government supporting local clean energy and climate solutions to safeguard the future of our communities.”

As members of the Cities Power Partnership local government climate alliance, we demand national action and call upon the Federal Government to join us in making tackling climate change the top priority.

At the local level we’re working with our communities and with each other to develop a strong climate response, and to support Australia’s shift to clean energy.

All tiers of government have a role to play in driving down Australia’s greenhouse gas pollution, and we need swift action at the Federal level to address our escalating national emissions

We demand three major actions from our Federal leaders:

  • Strong national climate policy aligned to the science and a national commitment to rapidly transitioning to 100% clean energy
  • Support the rapid phase out of fossil fuel subsidies which contribute to climate change
  • Provide long-term finance to support implementation of clean energy and sustainable transport, such as rooftop solar, battery storage, electric vehicle charging stations, public and active transport infrastructure in council and community areas


Cr Clover Moore, Lord Mayor, City of Sydney

Cr Michael Lyon, Acting Mayor, Byron Shire Council

Cr Julia Leu, Mayor Douglas Shire Council

Cr Dominic King, Mayor Bellingen Council

Cr Amanda McLaren, Mayor Strathbogie Council

Cr Ken Keith, Mayor, Parkes Shire Council

Cr Frank Wilkie, Acting Mayor, Noosa Council

Cr Darcy Byrne, Inner West Council

Cr Kathy Neilson, Mayor of Randwick Council

Cr Pam Townshend, Shire President, Augusta Margaret River, WA

Cr David Gill , Mayor Mornington Peninsula Mayor, VIC

Cr Renée McLennan, Mayor, Town of Bassendean

Cr Ann Ferguson, Mayor, Mount Barker

Cr Natalie Abboud, Mayor, Moreland City Council

Cr Jerome Laxale, Mayor, City of Ryde

For more information please contact the Cities Power Partnership media team on 0432 368 714 or email [email protected]