Climate Summit for Local Government

Sept 6-8, 2023 | Melbourne

18 NOVEMBER 2021

ADELAIDE CITY Council has gained a national climate accolade for its community engagement at the Cities Power Partnership Awards last night.

The Cities Power Partnership Awards recognise the work of climate heroes in local governments across the country who are transforming Australia’s energy landscape.

The Sustainability Incentive Scheme, one of the City of Adelaide’s flagship programs for driving community uptake in renewable and low carbon technologies, is this year’s Community Engagement award winner.

The scheme offers financial incentives to households or businesses to assist with innovations and early adoption of sustainable technologies, while price is still a barrier.

City of Adelaide Lord Mayor, Sandy Verschoor said she was proud to have the city’s leading program recognised.

“The 660 projects delivered throughout the city since 2015, with an additional 361 roof top solar panel systems and 113 energy storage units, continue to contribute to reducing emissions as we aspire to become a carbon neutral city,” said Lord Mayor Verschoor.

“The continuous evolution of the Scheme to offer rebates in areas that are emerging is a real driving force behind the long-term success of this program. This year, the Scheme is supporting shared solar systems to enable high density properties and tenants’ access to the dual benefits of generating renewable energy and controlling their own energy use inside their apartment– the first of its kind in Adelaide.

“Being recognised by the Cities Power Partnership as a leader in community achievement is an

absolute honour and highlights our city’s commitment to bringing the community on the journey with us to carbon neutrality.”

Cities Power Partnership director, Dr Portia Odell congratulated the City of Adelaide, noting that the winning entry was a shining example of community engagement in a competitive field of entrants.

“Adelaide’s initiatives show how local governments can make massive inroads when it comes to driving more solar and storage in communities, which deliver not only major emissions reductions but also significant cost savings for local residents and businesses,” Dr Odell said.

“The local climate solutions on display at these awards are tangible proof that Australian communities are rising up to meet the challenges of climate change and play a critical role delivering climate solutions in Australia.”

“Tackling community emissions can be challenging and it’s fantastic to see Adelaide demonstrating how this can be achieved. The best part is that when one council finds a solution, many more can follow. As we see through innovative renewable energy deals or novel ways to help the community transition to net zero emissions, this sector is leading the way with practical local climate solutions.”

The Cities Power Partnership Awards celebrated outstanding work from local governments in the fields of renewable energy, energy efficiency, sustainable transport, community engagement and innovation as well as individual climate champion awards.


Renewable Energy Achievement Award
Northern Beaches Council, NSW – Northern Beaches Goes Renewable

Energy Efficiency Achievement Award
Georges River Council, NSW – Working towards net zero emissions

Sustainable Transport Achievement Award
Winner: ACT Government, ACT – Zero Emissions Fleet Transition

Community Engagement Achievement Award
City of Adelaide, SA – Sustainability Incentives Scheme Enabling Community Emissions Outcomes

Innovation Award
Greater Dandenong City Council, VIC – Net zero emissions in Council infrastructure and assets bids

Ambition Award
Mornington Peninsula Shire, VIC – Climate Emergency Plan “Ensuring our Future”

Collaboration Award
Darebin City Council, VIC – Victorian Energy Collaboration (VECO)

Climate Ambassador Award (elected representative)
Shoalhaven City Council, NSW – Mayor Amanda Findley

Climate Champion Award (council staff)
Cairns Regional Council Sustainability Team, QLD
Highly Commended: Hunter Joint Organisation, NSW

Community Choice Award
Borough of Queenscliffe, VIC – Community-led climate emergency response plan



The Cities Power Partnership awards recognise councils demonstrating climate mitigation action across the listed 37 action pledge items under the Cities Power Partnership. Each of the 9 categories were judged to ensure their respective criteria were met.


  • Damon Gameau, Film director, author and presenter
  • Dr Amanda Cahill, CEO, Next Economy
  • Dr Simon Bradshaw, Head of Research, Climate Council
  • Pam Townshend, Former Shire President, Shire of Augusta Margaret River, Western Australia