

Affordable electric vehicles for Australian communities unlikely without Fuel Efficiency Standards

STATEMENT FROM 120 AUSTRALIAN MAYORS AND COUNCILLORS

Transport is a significant source of emissions at all levels of government - and is the third highest source of emissions nationally behind only electricity and stationary energy.

Local governments are doing what we can to switch to electric vehicles (EVs), but our hands are tied. A lack of supply to Australia, and the strong federal policy to drive it, makes it difficult to transition our fleets, therefore limiting the availability of secondhand vehicles to communities.

We urge the Federal Government to support our access to electric vehicles by legislating strong fuel efficiency standards.

World-class fuel efficiency standards would bring more low and zero emissions vehicles to Australian shores. This will accelerate the transition for councils - and with fleet vehicles entering the secondhand market after three to five years, this ensures communities have access to the best technology at a fair price.

We call on the Australian Government to:

Implement fuel efficiency standards that will secure a pipeline of affordable lower and zero emissions vehicles for Australian communities, Councils and business fleets. These standards must:

- Be mandatory and deliver at least equivalent settings to those in other major markets to ensure Australia doesn't stay at the back of the queue for cleaner vehicles.
- Give Australian drivers more choice and affordability than they have today, by bringing a wider range of vehicle types to our shores.
- Support 100% of new vehicles sold in Australia to become zero emissions as soon as possible sending a strong market signal that Australian communities, businesses and government agencies are ready for zero-emission vehicles.
- Be reviewed and updated approximately every five years. Technology changes fast and it's imperative we have a continued supply of quality vehicles equivalent to our global peers.



New South Wales

Kylie King, Mayor Steve Bowen OAM, Deputy Mayor Ashley Edwards, Councillor Jessica Kellahan, Councillor David Thurley OAM, Councillor The City of Albury

Greta Werner, Councillor Ann Fardell, Councillor Bayside Council

Cathy Griff, Councillor Bega Valley Shire Council

Stephen Allan, Mayor Bellingen Shire Council

John Connors, Mayor Dungog Shire Council

Alison Worthington, Deputy Mayor Eurobodalla Shire Council

Jason Shepherd, CouncillorGoulburn Mulwaree Council

Neil Reilly, Mayor Kiama Council

Alec Taylor, Councillor Ku-ring-gai Council

Kay Fraser, Mayor Lake Macquarie City Council

Andrew Zbik, Mayor David Roenfeldt, Councillor Bridget Kennedy, Councillor Lane Cove Council

Nuatali Nelmes, Lord Mayor City of Newcastle

Zoe Baker, Mayor North Sydney Council

David Mallard, Councillor Orange City Council

Ken Keith OAM, Mayor Parkes Shire Council

Phil Bradley, CouncillorCity of Parramatta

Ryan Palmer, Mayor Port Stephens Council

Bernard Purcell, Councillor Trenton Brown, Councillor Penny Pedersen, Councillor City of Ryde

Amanda Findley, Mayor Dr Tonia Gray, Councillor Shoalhaven City Council

Danny Thompson, Councillor Sue George, Councillor Singleton Council

Clover Moore, Lord Mayor
Sylvie Ellsmore, Deputy Lord Mayor
HY William Chan, Councillor
(Waskam) Emelda Davis, Councillor
Lyndon Gannon, Councillor
Shauna Jarrett, Councillor
Robert Kok, Councillor
Linda Scott, Councillor
Yvone Weldon, Councillor
City of Sydney

Nola Firth, Councillor Tweed Shire Council

Jenny McKinnon, Deputy Mayor Wagga Wagga City Council

Paula Masselos, Mayor Waverley Council

Gordon Bradbery AM, Lord Mayor Mithra Cox, Councillor Wollongong City Council

Victoria

Belinda Coates, Councillor City of Ballarat

Bruce Lancashire, Mayor Brimbank City Council

Susanne Newton, Deputy Mayor Trent McCarthy, Councillor Susan Rennie, Councillor Darebin City Council Mark Reeves, Mayor Arthur Allen, Deputy Mayor Jane Greacen, Councillor Mendy Urie, Councillor Kirsten Van Diggele, Councillor Tom Crook, Councillor East Gippsland Shire Council

Nathan Conroy, Mayor Claire Harvey, Councillor Frankston City Council

Andrea Metcalf, Mayor City of Greater Bendigo

Tim Drylie, Councillor Hepburn Shire Council

Steve Staikos, Councillor City of Kingston

Annette Death, Mayor Macedon Ranges Shire Council

Tomas Lightbody, Councillor Manningham City Council

Rohan Leppert, Councillor City of Melbourne

Angelica Panopoulos, Mayor Mark Riley, Councillor Merri-bek City Council

Liam Wood, Mayor Stefano De Pieri, Councillor Jodi Reynolds, Councillor Mildura Rural City Council

Louise Bannister, Deputy Mayor Mitchell Shire Council

Dr Josh Fergeus, CouncillorCity of Monash

Sarah Race, Councillor Despi O'Connor, Councillor Mornington Peninsula Shire

John Walsh, Mayor Karine Haslam, Deputy Mayor Damien Gallagher, Councillor Murrindindi Shire Council

Ben Ramcharan, Mayor Nillumbik Shire Council



Victoria (continued)

Tim Baxter, CouncillorCity of Port Phillip

Laura Binks, Mayor Strathbogie Council

Dean Rees, Mayor Rural City of Wangaratta

Edward Crossland, Deputy Mayor Amanda Stone, Councillor Sophie Wade, Councillor Yarra City Council

Western Australia

Kath Hamilton, Mayor Renee McLennan, Deputy Mayor Bassendean Town Council

Filomena Piffaretti, Mayor City of Bayswater

Phoebe Corke, Councillor Tarun Dewan, Councillor City of Cockburn

Carol Adams OAM, Mayor City of Kwinana

Glynis Barber, Councillor City of Melville

Hayley Edwards, Deputy Mayor Dawn Jecks, Councillor Rockingham City Council **David Lucas, Mayor** City of Swan

Karen Vernon, Mayor Town of Victoria Park

Emma Cole, Mayor Jonathan Hallett, Councillor Dan Loden, Councillor The City of Vincent

Bronwyn Smith, Councillor Paul Miles, Councillor Jordan Wright, Councillor James Rowe, Councillor City of Wanneroo

South Australia

Dr Jane Lomax-Smith AM, Lord MayorCity of Adelaide

Keith Parkes, Mayor Alexandrina Council

Angela Evans, Mayor On behalf of all elected members City of Charles Sturt

Dr Heather Holmes-Ross, Mayor Joanna Wells, Councillor Aidan Greenshields, Councillor Jane Bange, Councillor City of Mitcham

David Leach, Mayor Harry Seager, Councillor Jessica Szilassy, Councillor Mount Barker District Council

Queensland

Terry James, CouncillorCairns Regional Council

Darren Power, Mayor Logan City Council

Brian Stockwell, Councillor Noosa Shire Council

Tasmania

Leigh Gray, Mayor Brighton Council

Alison Jarman, Mayor Devonport City Council

Anna Reynolds, Lord Mayor City of Hobart

Northern Territory

Kon Vatskalis, Lord Mayor City of Darwin

Australian Capital Territory

Andrew Barr, Chief Minister Shane Rattenbury, Minister for Climate Change and Sustainability ACT Government

